## Membership

- 1. Expectation of members: Although members are selected to ensure broad representation of the SGU staff and SOM faculty with a role to play in monitoring students' progress and promotion, members have the responsibility to function as "members of the whole," working to optimize the academic review process, rather than to represent the interests of a particular constituency.
- 2. Faculty and Ex-Officio Staff: The Academic Progress Review Committee consists of the following members:

Basic Sciences: Course Director (as relevant), Curriculum Evaluation and Assessment Division (CEAD) representative, Basic Sciences Academic Advising, Development, and Support Services (AADS) representative, Senior Associate Dean of Basic Sciences (SADOBS) representative

GAP: CEAD representative, Basic Sciences AADS representative, Office of the University Registrar (OUR) representative, SADOBS representative

Clinical Studies: CEAD representative, Clinical Studies AADS representative, Senior Associate Dean of Clinical Studies (SADOCS) representative, OUR representative, Clerkship Placement representative

- 3. Terms: Faculty committee members will serve three-year terms. Members may serve two consecutive terms. No person will serve more than two consecutive terms.
- 4. Election of faculty members: The members of the APRC are selected by the dean of medicine.
- 5. The Chair of the Academic Progress Review Committee is the associate dean for evaluation and assessment or designee.
- 6. Resignation: If an appointed committee member chooses to step down from the APRC prior to completion of their term of office, the dean of medicine will appoint a replacement based on recommendations from the SOM senate.
- 7. Possible replacement for absenteeism: Members who miss more than two consecutive APRC meetings will be dismissed from the committee and a replacement sought.