Membership

- 1. Chair: The Dean of Admissions for the SOM will serve as Chair of the FSSC.
- 2. Members
 - 1. Members will normally be 17 in number.
 - 2. Faculty: The FSSC will include at least 15 members of SOM faculty who are typically engaged in teaching within the SOM curriculum. Exceptions may be made for those members of faculty who temporarily assume administrative duties as part of professional enrichment. The chair of the FSSC will be designated as a member of Faculty provided that said Chair is also normally engaged in teaching with the SOM curriculum.
 - 3. Administrative Deans: Up to two administrative deans of the SGU may serve on the Committee.
- 3. Appointments: Nominations of the faculty to be appointed in FSSC are made by the senate. Appointments of members of the FSSC are made by the chair, pending approval of such appointments by relevant academic departmental chairs (where applicable) and in consultation with the Dean of the SOM (or responsible designate). Appointments of administrative Deans to the Committee will be made by the Dean of the SOM. Although members are appointed to ensure broad representation of the SOM, members have the responsibility to function as "members of the whole," working to optimize the decision-related processes and outcomes.
- 4. Terms: Members may serve two consecutive two-year terms, with eligibility recurring after two interceding years.
- 5. Removal: Members may be removed from the FSSC by the Chair with cause and in consultation with the Dean of the SOM (or responsible designate). Cause may include but is not necessarily limited to excessive absenteeism from meetings or substandard participation in placement-related decisions.
- 6. Resignation: A member may resign from the FSSC by written submission to the chair.